top of page


Grand opening LCF Bruce Hannon Levee Trail at Sangamon River Corridor Reserve

Grand opening of the Bruce Hannon Levee Trail

LCF’s mission is to preserve and restore natural communities in East Central Illinois, to create interconnected corridors, to provide wildlife habitat, and connect people and nature for future generations.

Our Founding & Focus

In 2003, a group of passionate East Central Illinois citizens and conservationists saw the need for a new organization with a unique, locally focused mission.

LCF was created to preserve and restore local woods and wetlands along rivers and creeks — areas often threatened by development. LCF also educates landowners about programs to preserve their land in its natural state.

LCF’s priorities include:

  • Ensuring access to clean drinking water

  • Improving wildlife habitat by connecting lands

  • Helping all ages understand and enjoy nature near home


LCF currently protects four properties totaling 226 acres in Champaign, Piatt, Vermilion, and DeWitt counties.

Brady Woods and the Sangamon River Corridor Reserve include portions of the Sangamon River. Our Jordan Creek site sits at the confluence of Jordan Creek and the Salt Fork of the Vermilion River. At Mettler Woods Nature Preserve, a creek on the property feeds into the Salt Creek Natural Area.

Our events page highlights our free nature programs, workdays, field trips, and annual Mudpuppy Festival.

LCF is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit. Our work is made possible by gifts and grants from generous individuals, businesses, and organizations.

Founding members of LCF’s board of trustees are Bruce Hannon, Jerry Soesbe, Ted Rund, William Van Hagey, Eric Robeson, Kyle Robeson, Ward McDonald, Beth Beauchamp, and Charles Lansford.

Our Executive Director

LCF Executive Director Deanna Glosser is an environmental planner who has worked to protect natural resources for more than 30 years. 


Most recently, Deanna served on the Illinois Pollution Control Board. Prior to that, she founded Environmental Planning Solutions, Inc. (EPSI), consulting on a range of projects, including an update to the Illinois Natural Areas Inventory, for which she wrote the Illinois Sustainable Natural Areas Vision. 


She was also co-founder of the Sustainable Watershed Action Team, helping local governments in northeastern Illinois adopt sustainable development ordinances and prepare comprehensive and green infrastructure plans.

Deanna worked for the Illinois Department of Natural Resources for 13 years, most recently as lead on “smart growth” issues. Deanna began her IDNR career as endangered species program manager, then led the division ensuring 

LCF Executive Director Deanna Glosser

compliance with state regulations for wetlands and endangered species. For the American Planning Association, Deanna co-authored policy guides on wetlands, endangered species, and community and regional food planning.


Deanna has a PhD from the UIUC Department of Urban & Regional Planning. She has also served that department as an Adjunct Assistant Professor, and at UIS as an Adjunct Professor in the Environmental Studies program.

Our Board of Directors

Phil Van Ness

Urbana, IL

John Marlin

Vice President

Urbana, IL 


Jonah Cooley


Monticello, IL

Amanda Pankau


Monticello, IL


Jim Ayers

Monticello, IL

Elizabeth Beauchamp

Communications Committee
White Heath, IL 

Steve Beckett

Urbana, IL

Wendy Brown
Danville, IL


Bruce Hannon

Champaign, IL   

Ted Rund

Philo, IL 


Lott Thomas

Champaign, IL  

Advisors to the Board

Michael Frerichs

Champaign, IL


Fran Harty

Monticello, IL      


Kennedy K. Hutson
Monticello, IL 


Eric Robeson

Champaign, IL           


Janet Ruckman

Monticello, IL

bottom of page