ABOUT LCF

Grand opening of the Bruce Hannon Levee Trail

LCF’s mission is to preserve and restore natural communities in East Central Illinois, to create interconnected corridors, to provide wildlife habitat, and connect people and nature for future generations.

Our Founding & Focus

In 2003, a group of passionate East Central Illinois citizens and conservationists saw the need for a new organization with a unique, locally focused mission.

LCF was created to preserve and restore local woods and wetlands along rivers and creeks — areas often threatened by development. LCF also educates landowners about programs to preserve their land in its natural state.

LCF’s priorities include:

  • Ensuring access to clean drinking water

  • Improving wildlife habitat by connecting lands

  • Helping all ages understand and enjoy nature near home

 

LCF currently protects four properties totaling 226 acres in Champaign, Piatt, Vermilion, and DeWitt counties.

Brady Woods and the Sangamon River Corridor Reserve include portions of the Sangamon River. Our Jordan Creek site sits at the confluence of Jordan Creek and the Salt Fork of the Vermilion River. At Mettler Woods Nature Preserve, a creek on the property feeds into the Salt Creek Natural Area.

Our events page highlights our free nature programs, workdays, field trips, and annual Mudpuppy Festival.

LCF is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit. Our work is made possible by gifts and grants from generous individuals, businesses, and organizations.

Founding members of LCF’s board of trustees are Bruce Hannon, Jerry Soesbe, Ted Rund, William Van Hagey, Eric Robeson, Kyle Robeson, Ward McDonald, Beth Beauchamp, and Charles Lansford.

Our Executive Director

LCF Executive Director Deanna Glosser is an environmental planner who has worked to protect natural resources for more than 30 years. 

 

Most recently, Deanna served on the Illinois Pollution Control Board. Prior to that, she founded Environmental Planning Solutions, Inc. (EPSI), consulting on a range of projects, including an update to the Illinois Natural Areas Inventory, for which she wrote the Illinois Sustainable Natural Areas Vision. 

 

She was also co-founder of the Sustainable Watershed Action Team, helping local governments in northeastern Illinois adopt sustainable development ordinances and prepare comprehensive and green infrastructure plans.

Deanna worked for the Illinois Department of Natural Resources for 13 years, most recently as lead on “smart growth” issues. Deanna began her IDNR career as endangered species program manager, then led the division ensuring 

compliance with state regulations for wetlands and endangered species. For the American Planning Association, Deanna co-authored policy guides on wetlands, endangered species, and community and regional food planning.

 

Deanna has a PhD from the UIUC Department of Urban & Regional Planning. She has also served that department as an Adjunct Assistant Professor, and at UIS as an Adjunct Professor in the Environmental Studies program.

Our Board of Directors

Steve Beckett

President
Urbana, IL
steve@beckettlawpc.com

 

Phil Van Ness

Vice President       
Urbana, IL

prvn@aol.com

 

Amanda Pankau

Treasurer

Monticello, IL

amanda.pankau@gmail.com

 

John Marlin

Secretary

Urbana, IL
jcmarlin@sbcglobal.net     

 

Jim Ayers

Monticello, IL
ayers@prairienet.net

 

Elizabeth Beauchamp

Communications Committee
White Heath, IL
eabeaucha@yahoo.com   

Bob Feller

White Heath, IL
feller500@gmail.com

Bruce Hannon

Champaign, IL
energy1434@gmail.com   

 

Leslie Heath

White Heath, IL
leslie.hmitch@gmail.com

 

Heidi Hurd

Monticello, IL
hhurd@illinois.edu

 

Kyle Robeson

Champaign, IL

 

Ted Rund

Philo, IL
Philoted@aol.com 

 

Lott Thomas

Champaign, IL
lthomas@TMH-LAW.com  

 

Jonah Totten

Monticello, IL
jonah.cooley@ilnacdnet.net

Advisors to the Board

Michael Frerichs

Champaign, IL
michaelfrerichs@hotmail.com

 

Fran Harty

Monticello, IL
fharty@tnc.org      

 

Kennedy K. Hutson
Monticello, IL
khutson@kennedyhutsonassociates.com 

 

Eric Robeson

Champaign, IL
eric@robesons.com           

 

Janet Ruckman

Monticello, IL
janet.ruckman@mchsi.com

The Land Conservation Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit with a mission to preserve and restore natural communities in East Central Illinois, to create interconnected corridors, to provide wildlife habitat, and connect people and nature for future generations.

GET EMAIL UPDATES

Deanna Glosser, PhD, Executive Director

3413 Waterville Ct.   Champaign, IL 61822

217/607-8155 (office)   217/725-5886 (cell)

Deanna_Glosser@comcast.net

  • YouTube
  • Facebook Social Icon

© Land Conservation Foundation